This event has passed.

City Gems: Guided Tour

Downtown's Modern Skyline Walking Tour

When

Saturday Jan 21, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Feb 4, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Feb 18, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Mar 3, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Mar 17, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Apr 7, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Apr 21, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday May 5, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday May 19, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday June 2, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday June 16, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday July 7, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday July 21, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Aug 4, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Aug 18, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Sep 1, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Sep 15, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Oct 6, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Oct 20, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Nov 3, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Nov 17, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Dec 1, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Saturday Dec 15, 2012 (2–4:30pm)

Where

Schindlertour01_show_page

Los Angeles Conservancy (Venue Partner)

Event locations vary - see descriptions

Office: 523 West Sixth Street, Suite 826

213-623-2489

Price

$10 / $5 members & children

Buy Tickets

Links

The Los Angeles Conservancy's Modern Skyline walking tour explores the evolution of the Bunker Hill area and the Central Business District's skyscrapers, plazas, and public art. Among the buildings encountered on the tour are the elegant Beaux Arts Biltmore Hotel from 1923, the Central Library at 333 South Hope Street (whose contribution to public art is a 42-foot high Alexander Calder sculpture), the Standard Hotel, the Bonaventure Hotel, and the Wells Fargo Center. In this bustling district in particular, the architectural history is the city's history.

Karin E. Baker, Flavorpill

Los Angeles Conservancy says…

From architecture to public art to public space, Los Angeles' Central Business District is a microcosm of the growth and development of Los Angeles.  From the 1880s when Victorian mansions crowned Bunker Hill, to today when sleek skyscrapers define the downtown skyline, the built environment of the Bunker Hill area has constantly evolved, reflecting the tastes, aspirations, and economics of the city’s population. Experience the skyscrapers, plazas, and public art that define the bustling financial district today, and discover how they relate to both the past and the future of Los Angeles, one of the great cities of the world.